Collecting News for All: How I use Google Reader and Pageflakes

news magazines

Build your own mashup news feeds.

Because of my work, and my belief that information and knowledge should be shared as widely as possible, I collect web news and blog posts into RSS streams that anyone can follow.  Maybe you’d like to do this too; maybe you just want to “follow” my feeds.  In any case, here’s what I do and how I do it.

While I listen to CBC in the car and thereby get pretty much all the typical news I need, I do like to keep up on developments in various fields too.  That’s where the web comes in.

I use Google Reader.  There may be glitzier readers out there, but none can do the very simple thing of composing RSS feeds of articles I’ve tagged and shared.  Google does an excellent job of explaining how sharing works in Reader; I won’t duplicate that here.  Basically, this lets me build my own “custom” feeds out of other, existent feeds.  I guess that makes it a kind of mashup.

Continue reading

