Welcome to my wordpress

I’ve changed blogging site.  Again.

I know: I’m a bit schizo to change my blog again.  But I have my reasons.

The first blog I had was on Vox, because I’m involved with some research projects that use it.  At the time, I just couldn’t get the look and feel of the thing to work for me.  Maybe that’s superficial, but not to me.

So I switched to Blogger.  It was actually easier to create blog items, and Blogger has more flexibility in changing themes and skins.  And I’ll admit to a tendency to prefer Google-ish products.

But I recently noticed some problems.  First, no matter how hard I tried, I still couldn’t get the look & feel right.  OCD?  Maybe.  More seriously, though, I found it was very difficult to add images at arbitrary spots in an entry (they all seemed to appear right at the very start of the entry, no matter where the insertion point was) and Blogger also seems to have signficiant trouble with tabulated data.  This was a problem because – as you’ll see in a few days – an article on decision making in design depends on charts and tables.

Before checking WordPress, I double checked Vox.  If it did images and tables well, perhaps I could learn to love it’s suboptimal (to me) theming.  Vox does a much better job with images.  But it still gagged on tables.

So, here I am at WordPress.  It seems to handle both images and tables quite well.  And there’s sufficient flexibility in the theming that I can tweak things to my satisfaction.  I “bought” the css upgrade so I can tweak the themes, and Bob’s your uncle.

And, if I ever get my dander up, I can actually download the WordPress engine and run it on my web server.  I’m loathe to do that now because I doubt I can administer the software as well as the fine ladies & gentlemen at WordPress.com, but it’s nice to have as an option, especially for a geek like me.

So there you have it.  I’m at WordPress now.  Hopefully I won’t switch again for some time.  I’ve imported my articles from Blogger too, so this blog is pretty much complete.

2 thoughts on “Welcome to my wordpress

  1. I can understand all that website designing process because I went through most of the sites like you and I have gone through all the ‘net rubbish’ to actually test on different things on different sites. I am also considering installing WP on a web server. But tentatively I am not willing to pay for anything yet because all my blogs at still at its infancy and I am still trying out a few ideas.

    Your site compliments to mine and I really like it !
    I will stick your website to my blogroll / links !

    Karen
    tummy’s feeling not too right, staying at home and yet surfing online when I am suppose to nap..

  2. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

Leave a Reply

